Program 13-15 January 2021

The purpose of this workshop is to advance the understanding of the mechanism of superconducting pairing in SrTiO3


Sebastian Haines (University of Cambridge, UK)

Matthew Coak (University of Warwick, UK)

Siddharth S. Saxena (University of Cambridge, UK)

Gian G. Guzmán-Veri (University of Costa Rica, Costa Rica)

Advisory board: 

Jonathan Ruhman (Bar-Ilan University, Israel)

Yaron Kedem (Nordita, Stockholm, Sweden)

Dirk van der Marel (University of Geneva, Switzerland)

Nimrod Bachar (University of Geneva, Switzerland)

Isao Inoue (AIST Tsukuba, Japan)

Jeremy Levy (University of Pittsburgh, US)

All times are in Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

1st Session
Chair: Sebastian Haines

13:30 Intro: Dirk van der Marel and Montu Saxena
Emergent phases

13:45 Isao Inoue
Superconductivity of (Sr, La)Ti(16O, 18O)3 and (Sr, Ca)(Ti, Nb)O3

14:15 Marc Scheffler
Single-gap superconductivity in Nb-doped SrTiO3 revealed by mK electrodynamics

14:45 Break (15 min.)

2nd Session
Chair: Peter Littlewood

15:00 Matt Coak
Emergence of a quantum coherent state at the border of ferroelectricity

15:30 Corentin Morice
Hidden fluctuations close to a quantum bicritical point

16:00 Ekhard Salje
Domain structures and superconductivity in SrTiO3

16:30 Discussion
Chair: Gian Guzmán-Verri

1st Session
Chair: Yaron Kedem

13:30 Je-Geun Park
Giant 16O-18O isotope effect on thermal Hall conductivity of SrTiO3

14:00 Nabyendu Das
Thermal conductivity of a quantum paraelectric

14:30 Break (15 min.)

2nd Session
Chair: Sebastian Haines

14:45 Lisa Lin & Peter Littlewood
What is the stability of bipolaron binding in SrTiO3?

15:15 Giacomo Ghiringhelli
Phonons and polarons of STO studied by RIXS spectroscopy

15:45 Zhi Wang
Electronic consequences of intrinsic octahedral tilting in cubic SrTiO3: Emergence of a direct gap component and strain-induced ferroelectricity

16:15 Discussion
Chair: Nimrod Bachar

1st Session
Chair: Jonathan Ruhman

13:30 Jeremy Levy
Electron Pairing and Superconductivity in STO-based Nanostructures

14:00 Danny Bennet
On the character of the insulator-metal transition at polar-nonpolar perovskite interfaces

14:30 Break (15 min.)

2nd Session
Chair: Jeremy Levy

14:45 Changjiang Liu
Two-dimensional superconductivity at KTaO3 (111) interfaces

15:15 Annette Bussman-Holder
Superconductivity in SrTiO3: Homogeneous versus filamentary conduction mechanism

15:45 Discussion
Chair: Dirk van der Marel

All times are in Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

Abstract book